Burglary Attorney in Kansas City, Kansas
If you’re looking at burglary charges in either Kansas City, Kansas, or Kansas City, Missouri, you will need to seek representation from a skilled criminal defense lawyer. Seeking representation is essential whether it is your first offense, or if you have several offenses. No matter where you’re at, I can help. By calling Richman Law Office LLC you’ll find a seasoned lawyer that can help protect your rights and strive to minimize the penalties of your charge. I serve clients on both sides of the border, Kansas City, Missouri, or Kansas City, Kansas, so contact me today to discuss your options.
Burglary Charges in Kansas
Both Kansas and Missouri refer to entering someone else’s property without permission (sometimes referred to as “breaking and entering,” though you don’t have to break in to be charged) with the intent to steal from them or commit another felony offense.
In Kansas, burglary is classified as a felony and has penalties of 17 months to over 14 years in prison. Some burglary cases are referred to as home invasions (burglarizing a home or apartment) and these are classified as level 7 felonies. Entering a business or other building with the intent to commit a crime is classified as a level 9. In Kansas, burglaries of homes or apartments are treated more seriously than other buildings, and your potential penalties will reflect this. You will also face more severe penalties if there’s a person in the building at the time of the crime (known as aggravated burglary) or if you have prior convictions.
Burglary Charges in Missouri
In Missouri, burglary can be charged in first or second-degree, and there is no distinction in penalties for a home invasion versus burglary of a business or other building. A first-degree charge (a class B felony) in Missouri means one of three things:
The defendant was armed at the time of the crime
The defendant threatened or caused injury to someone during the crime
Someone else was present at the time of the burglary (even if the defendant didn’t know)
First-degree charges can include penalties of up to 15 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000. Second-degree charges (a class D felony) are for all other burglaries that don’t include one of the three conditions above. Those convicted of second-degree burglary can face up to seven years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Equivalent to Kansas, if you have prior convictions, your charges will likely be more severe.
Defending Against Burglary Crimes
Depending on which state you are charged with burglary, I will help navigate your case and apply it to the laws of either Kansas or Missouri while explaining the circumstances of your particular charge. Having worked as a prosecutor and a criminal defense attorney, I’m able to view each case from multiple perspectives and can strategize the best option for success. I’ll look at the police reports, any witness statements, or other evidence and mount a defense in the hopes of reducing your charges or having them dismissed. Remember, the prosecution must prove that you entered the property with the intent to commit a crime, and the burden is on them to produce this evidence.
Burglary Attorney Serving Kansas City, Kansas
Because I’m able to represent clients in both Missouri and Kansas, I’ve had to learn the intricacies of both states’ laws. I’ve learned the best tactics and approaches based on your specific circumstances and will help achieve the best outcome possible. Contact me today at Richman Law Office LLC, in Kansas City, Kansas, so I can start working on your defense.